The Heart Forger (The Bone Witch) (Hardcover)

The Heart Forger (The Bone Witch) By Rin Chupeco Cover Image
Available via Warehouse (7-10 Days)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the The Bone Witch series.


"A sequel that builds in both thrills and enchantment."Kirkus Reviews

In The Bone Witch, Tea mastered resurrection—now she's after revenge...

No one knows death like Tea. A bone witch who can resurrect the dead, she has the power to take life…and return it. And she is done with her self-imposed exile. Her heart is set on vengeance, and she now possesses all she needs to command the mighty daeva. With the help of these terrifying beasts, she can finally enact revenge against the royals who wronged her—and took the life of her one true love.

But there are those who plot against her, those who would use Tea's dark power for their own nefarious ends. Because you can't kill someone who can never die…

War is brewing among the kingdoms, and when dark magic is at play, no one is safe.

Thrilling and atmospheric, this bestselling series is perfect for readers looking for

  • teen fiction bestsellers
  • dark fantasy young adult series
  • stories with diverse representation and multicultural influences
  • original worldbuilding and captivating writing
  • books about witches

Praise for The Heart Forger:

"Rin's beautifully crafted world from The Bone Witch (2017) expands in this sequel, which joins dark asha Tea on her crusade of revenge...Dark and entrancing with a third volume to come." —Booklist, STARRED review

"A wonderfully original tale — even better than the first...." —RT Book Reviews

"A dark, engaging fantasy series." —School Library Journal

The Bone Witch Trilogy:

The Bone Witch (Book 1)

The Heart Forger (Book 2)

The Shadowglass (Book 3)

About the Author

Despite uncanny resemblances to Japanese revenants, Rin Chupeco has always maintained their sense of humor. Raised in Manila, Philippines, they keep four pets: a dog, two birds, and a husband. They’ve been a technical writer and a travel blogger but now make things up for a living. They are the author of The Girl from the Well, The Suffering, The Bone Witch trilogy, and the A Hundred Names for Magic trilogy. Connect with Rin at

Praise For…

"Rin’s beautifully crafted world from The Bone Witch (2017) expands in this sequel, which joins dark asha Tea on her crusade of revenge...Dark and entrancing with a third volume to come.
" — Booklist, starred review

"In this spectacular follow-up to the rich The Bone Witch, Tea’s quest draws the reader further in, setting them on a more dangerous yet intriguing adventure." — Foreword Reviews, starred review

"A sequel that builds in both thrills and enchantment." — Kirkus Reviews

"A wonderfully original tale — even better than the first.... Readers will be pleased with the satisfying direction that Chupeco decides to go in regard to Tea’s love interests. The ending is equally explosive and delightfully romantic, and the conclusion really sets up events for the next title. These books have loads of potential to become a phenomenal fantasy series." — RT Book Reviews

"Packed with page-turning intrigue, battle scenes, romance, magic, and detailed world-building, this story will keep readers engaged and hoping for more." — School Library Connection

"A dark, engaging fantasy series." — School Library Journal

"Chupeco’s lush prose ensure that the emotions—cringing horror, nail-biting suspense, swoony passion—will all be accounted for. Readers who enjoy complex, densely intricate political intrigues on a par with Marchetta’s Lumatere Chronicles (Finnikin of the Rock, BCCB 3/10, etc.) are the best fit for this ongoing series." — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"Chupeco has crafted a glorious world for her twisting, turning plot, rich with magic, exotic beasts, romance and treachery. The alternating narratives are masterfully designed, drawing readers ever closer to their inevitable convergence. A mesmerizing tale, this sequel is even stronger than its precursor." — Shelf Awareness

Product Details
ISBN: 9781492635857
ISBN-10: 1492635855
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication Date: March 20th, 2018
Pages: 528
Language: English
Series: The Bone Witch